Women's Bible Study
 
Women of the bible

In these ten studies of Women in the Bible you will see places where your own life intersects with theirs. By studying and understanding these women you can discover the God behind their stories... and yours.

  • Where: Spirit of Joy Lutheran Church
  • Dates: Most Mondays, September 24 through December 17 (according to the schedule below)
  • Times: 6:30-7:30 pm
Fall Schedule
1   Eve (first woman, Adam’s wife) 24-Sep-18  
2   Sarah (Abraham’s wife, mother of Isaac) 1-Oct-18  
3   Hagar (Sarah’s handmaiden, mother of Ishmael) 8-Oct-18  
4   Lot’s wife (became pillar of salt) 22-Oct-18  
5   Rebekah (Isaac’s wife, mother of Jacob and Esau) 29-Oct-18  
6   Rachel (Jacob’s “favorite” of two wives) 5-Nov 18  
7   Leah (Rachel’s sister, Jacob’s other wife) 19-Nov-18  
8   Tamar (daughter-in-law of Judah) 26-Nov-18  
9   Potiphar’s wife (casts Joseph into prison) 3-Dec-18  
10   The Mothers of Moses (Jochebed and Pharaoh’s Daughter) 17-Dec-18  

Contact Ellen Ray for more information at BibleStudy-Women@sojchurch.com

 
Women's Day with Beth Moore
 

A successful day with leading Womans spiritual leader Beth Moore. Sharing friendship, spiritual guidance and the Lord with Women of Spirit of Joy. Joining us on September 15, 2018 included 3 ladies who drove up the hill from Oceanside. We shared fellowship, lunch and some funny personal stories. Thank you to all the ladies who participated in the day, Andy Ray for organizing and setting up the simulcast, Gail Schlentz, Ellen Ray and Linda Porcelli for their work.

 
OUR THANKS-GIVING THEME

Thanks-Giving. Not the turkey type! This is something else.

Welcome to this year’s theme for stewardship. Thanks-Giving…demonstrating gratitude for the gift you’ve received. I wonder if we take it for granted sometimes. I was taught to say “thank you” when I was very young. I’ve said it so much that I wonder if I’ve lost sight of the deeper meaning. I think it’s good to think about the words we say and why we say them.

Giving thanks. Just ponder that… Thanks-giving. How many different ways are there to show thanks without uttering a word?

How do YOU, personally, communicate thanks? Better still, WHY do you give thanks?

Just some thoughts.

 

Anyway, here’s a preview of what’s ahead:

  • Oct 28th – SOJ’s Ministries video and “Giving Exercise”
  • Nov 4th – Our annual Harvest Dinner
  • Nov 11th – Commitment Sunday
  • February – “Thanks-Giving for Love”
  • April – Earth Day as Lutheran Stewardship
  • June – TBD

See you in church!

God’s blessings,
Ellen Ray
Stewardship & Prayer
Task Force Leader
 
Spirit of Joy Task Force Leaders
Council President: Roberta Gilmore council@sojchurch.com
Worship / Music: Bryce Harrison worship&music@sojchurch.com
Social Ministry: Tara Gehler socialministry@sojchurch.com
Christian Education: Jeanette Bergstrom ChristianEducation@sojchurch.com
Women's Ministry: Patty Payne SpiritsOfGrace@sojchurch.com
Men's Fellowship: Harvey Payne SOJMen@sojchurch.com
Home Groups Al Rogers HomeGroups@sojchurch.com
Fellowship: Jessica Parker Fellowship@sojchurch.com
Property & Equipment: Dave Hamblin Property&Equipment@sojchurch.com
Youth / Children: Janine Stemper youth&children@sojchurch.com
Building Committee: Russ Popma, Jim Barlow BuildingCommittee@sojchurch.com
Evangelism: Mick Hall Evangelism@sojchurch.com
Stewardship Ellen Ray Stewardship@sojchurch.com
Financial Jim Barlow Treasurer@sojchurch.com
Prayers & Squares Marilynn Hersey Prayers&Squares@sojchurch.com
Prayer Line Ellen Ray PrayerLine@sojchurch.com

Usher Teams Bob Curwin Ushers@sojchurch.com
Webmaster Al Rogers webmaster@sojchurch.com
Newsletter Al Rogers newsletter@sojchurch.com

Questions? Please contact us at: webmaster@sojchurch.com

 
 
 
Coming Events
Mon, Sep 24 6:30 pm
Women's Bible Study Begins
Mon, Nov 12 5:30 pm
SOJ MEN serve Open Door meals

SOJChurch Calendar

 
 
Weekly Activities
Homegroups
Meet Sunday,Wed, and Thursday
10 Week Sept 9-Nov 15
More info at http://sojchurch.com/homegroups
Sunday
8:15 & 10:00 am: Worship
8:15: SS preK-6th grade
10:00: SS preK-High School
Monday
8-9am: Bible Study
6-7pm: Bible Study
Both studies on hiatus until September
Monday
6:30pm: Women's Bible Study
Most Mondays Sept 24-Dec 17 (check the schedule)
Tuesday
9am: Prayers & Squares
Kids Klub, Junior High, and High School
are all on hiatus until after Rally Day
Wednesday
7-8am: Men's Breakfast Denny's
First Wednesday
9:00am: Spirits of Grace
Thursday
7pm: Choir
Saturday
9:00am: Church Cleanup
We need your help: Please vounteer
Saturday: 1st & 3rd
8-9am: Men's Bible Study
Men's study on hiatus until September
 
 
Useful Links

Online Tithes & Offerings
Contribute Amazon Smile
RightNow Media
Contact Us

Youth Ministry
Kids Klub
Upcoming Events
Task Force Leaders
Church Council
e-News Archive
Latest Slideshows
Photo Privacy Policy